1. Skip to main content
  2. A+
  3. A
  4. A-
  5. A
  6. हिन्दी

Bhabha Atomic Research Centre a constituent Unit under the Department of Atomic Energy is a multidisciplinary organisation, pursuing comprehensive research and development programmes for harnessing nuclear energy and also its utilisation for the benefit of the society. These R & D efforts are concentrated in the fields of nuclear sciences, engineering & technology, basic sciences and allied fields and geared for exploitation of atomic energy for power generation and application of radiation technology in the areas of agriculture, health care and industry. The centre is engaged in the research and development of front line technologies. The interaction with academic institutions and international cooperation in related advanced areas of research is being continuously strengthened. BARC continues to give R&D support to all other units of DAE and provide necessary support to ensure national security.

The Centre is organised into various Groups and Divisions/Sections and co-ordination of its activities is achieved through the Group Boards, Trombay Scientific Committee (TSC) and the Trombay Council (TC).Director is the Head of the Unit. He is also declared as Head of the Department and has been delegated financial, administrative and other powers by the Department of Atomic Energy for carrying on with the activities of the Centre. Other functionaries like Group Directors, Associate Directors and Heads of Divisions/Sections have also been delegated powers required for discharging their duties/functions. While the Group Directors, Associate Directors and Heads of Divisions are competent to take decisions in their delegated areas of responsibility, inter-divisional co-ordination is achieved through the Group Boards and Trombay Scientific Committee. The Trombay Council is the policy making body for the Centre. The deliberations of Group Boards, TSC and TC are not open to the public and minutes of such meetings are also not accessible for public.

A list of all officers and employees of the Centre with their designations/grades is annexed. Being a Central Govt. organisation, the Centre follows scales of pay notified by the Central government. The scales of pay attached to different posts are also listed. Apart from the basic pay the officers/employees are eligible for Dearness Pay, Dearness Allowance, City Compensatory Allowance, House Rent Allowance etc. as per the orders of the Government of India.

The activities of the Centre are financed by the Central Government through the budgetary allocations. The expenditure is broadly categorised into plan, non-plan as also revenue and capital.

The details of different budgetary allocation and progress of expenditure are given separately. In compliance with the requirements under Section 5 of the Right to Information Act, 2005 the Centre has appointed Appellate Authority, Central Public Information Officer and 4 Central Assistant Public Information Officers.

Download Application Form for obtaining information under the RTI Act, 2005