Homi Bhabha Science & Technology Maanpatra – HBSTM

# Recognizing Excellence in Science, **Engineering and Technology**

he Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) introduced a one-time internal recognition, with no cash component, in place of DAE Science and Technology Awards, named the HBST - Maanpatra (HBSTM), to acknowledge exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions in science, engineering and technology. The age of the nominee shall not exceed 45 years on 01<sup>st</sup> January of the year for which he/she is being considered for HBSTM.



Scientists and engineers from various DAE units i.e., AERB, AMDER, BARC, BHAVINI, BRIT, DCSEM, DPS, ECIL, GCNEP, GSO, HWB, IGCAR, IREL, NFC, NPCIL, RRCAT, UCIL and VECC are eligible for this honour.

The complete process, from nomination to declaration of winners, was paperless and handled through an online portal. The Maanpatra(s) are presented annually on Founder's Day.

The Director, BARC invited nominations from all Units on August 5, 2024 for the HBST-Maanpatra. A total of 107 nominations were received through the portal from various DAE units, which included 56 nominations in engineering category, 32 in science category and 19 in technology category. These nominations were meticulously evaluated at two levels and the most deserving candidates were shortlisted for their remarkable contributions. The fourteen selected officers which included five awardees in science category, five awardees in engineering category and four awardees in technology category. List of awardees is presented

The Maanpatra, were presented on October 30, 2024 at the Central Complex Auditorium, BARC. The Chairman, AEC & Secretary, DAE conferred the winners with handcrafted Maanpatra and its scroll-box, recognising their dedication and achievements in advancing science, engineering and technology.

The HBST-Maanpatra stands as a testament to DAE's commitment to fostering excellence and innovation within its scientific and engineering communities, encouraging scientists and engineers to continue contributing to the nation's progress in field of nuclear science and technology.

## Awardees of maiden HBSTM

#### Science Category

Dr. A. K. Srivastava **BSG. BARC** 

Dr. Amit Kunwar

CG, BARC

Dr. Mohit Tyagi

PG, BARC

Dr. P. C. Rout

PG, BARC

Dr. Tapan Kumar Rana Physics, VECC

### **Engineering Category**

Dr. V. P. Sinha

NFG. BARC

Shri Alok Prakash

RPG, BARC

Shri Suneel Gattu

NRB, BARC

Dr. M. V. S. R. Ravi Kanth

Zinc & Special Material, NFC

Shri Shrikant D. Mishra

Civil, NPCIL

## **Technology Category**

Shri S. K. Vadali NFG. BARC

Dr. Nafees V. Ahmed

ChTG, BARC

Dr. Khageswar Sahu

MSATG, RRCAT

Dr. Diptimayee Samantaray MMG, IGCAR

