Home » Leaders » Dr S. Banerjee

Current Assingment

Chairman and Secretary DAE

Currently, Dr S. Banerjee is holding Homi Bhabha Chair Professor, Department of Atomic Energy.


Dr S. Banerjee
Dr Srikumar Banerjee
Former Director, BARC
(April 30, 2004 -May 19, 2010)

Dr S. Banerjee is internationally well known for his work in the field of physical metallurgy and materials science. He has contributed extensively in the basic research on metallurgy of zirconium and titanium based alloys and their applications in the development of thermo-mechanical treatments for processing several nuclear reactor components.His work provides a basis for analysing the radiation stability of structural materials in nuclear reactors. The contributions of Dr Banerjee and his colleagues with regard to the development of shape memory alloys and their applications in heat shrinkable couplings are finding extensive applications in the light combat aircraft project. An Distinguished Scientist, Dr Banerjee has been the recipient of many awards and honours. These include Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award in Engineering Sciences (1989), G.D. Birla Gold Medal of the Indian Institute of Metals (1997), INSA Prize for Materials Science (2001) and Indian Nuclear Society Award (2003). Notable among the international awards received by him are Acta Metallurgica Outstanding Paper Award (1984) and Humboldt Research Award (2004). Dr Banerjee is a Fellow of Indian National Science Academy, Indian Academy of Sciences, Indian National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Sciences.